Primary tabs

1,412 kmfrom home
"I see myself adapting easily to the Netherlands".
Current Country: 
Country of Origin: 
Syrian Arab Republic

Share this story:

“My name is Noor and I’m 20 years old. I come from the city of Deir Ez-Zor in Syria. The war drove me and my family away from our homeland, four years ago.

I graduated from high school but the war and being constantly on the move as a refugee have robbed me of the opportunity to get to the University. This is what I plan to do now, in the Netherlands, where I will relocate. I will apply for the medical school.

Ever since I was a little girl I wanted to study medicine, I remember dreaming about wearing the white robe. My inspiration are my two uncles, both medical doctors, and I see myself following their footsteps. I really haven’t decided yet what kind of doctor I’d like to become, but I still have time to make up my mind.

I like my life in Europe, despite the hardships. People are simple, just like in Syria and it’s a very safe place. I see myself adapting easily to the Netherlands, the way I have adapted myself here in Greece.

As much as I can’t wait to get to the Netherlands and a new beginning, I will definitely get back to Greece someday, hopefully on holidays, as I’ve seen so many beautiful places here that I’d like to explore”.

Through the EU Relocation Programme, the International Organization for Migration in Greece (IOM) supports the Government of Greece in relocating with safety and dignity asylum seekers to other EU Member States of Relocation (MSR). The Programme is funded by the Asylum, Migration and Integration Fund of the European Union (AMIF).


Previous Country of Residence: 
Syrian Arab Republic

Related Sustainable Development Goal(s):