Primary tabs

3,332 kmfrom home
"I packed 20 years of life in two pieces of luggage, and headed towards my new station."
Current Country: 
Country of Origin: 

Share this story:

"I am originally from Sargodha, Pakistan. In 2006 right after I graduated from university, I was recruited by an American company called KBR. The company's deployment area was Middle East having Kuwait as my base. I will never forget the day I landed at Kuwait International Airport to find a company representative waiting for me, holding a board with my name on it. It felt like I was entering a whole new world, in which some people knew my name but no one knew me personally. I had packed my 20 years of life in two pieces of luggage, headed towards my new station at a camp in Arifjan.

Before coming to Kuwait, I had read about the rich culture and amazing traditions of the Arabs. But when I was deployed I came to learn that I would work and live inside the camp, and have very limited interactions with the locals and restricted movement. I was in Kuwait, but not in Kuwait.

Working with US and other collation forces from different countries in my original role was a great experience, which not only broadened my vision of the world but also introduced me to the scope of international work. In 2014, I joined the United Nations and finally I was free to move elsewhere in Kuwait; I find it to be a very rich, historical, and multi-cultural country. I love the traditional food and I never miss the camel racing in Kabd.

The decision to migrate helped me in develop my career, as well as giving me an opportunity to learn about different cultures."

Related Sustainable Development Goal(s):